User / Group permissions for Pages are:
|Configuration||admin.configuration||Gives the user access to the Configuration area of the admin.|
|Pages Configuration||admin.configuration.pages||Gives the user access to the Pages Configuration found inside the Pages area of the admin.|
|Pages||admin.pages||Gives the user full access to the Pages area of the admin.|
|Create||admin.pages.create||Gives the user access to Create pages.|
|Read||admin.pages.read||Gives the user access to Read pages.|
|Update||admin.pages.update||Gives the user access to Update pages.|
|Delete||admin.pages.delete||Gives the user access to Delete pages.|
|List||admin.pages.list||Gives the user access to Pages area of the admin.|
The possible values for the permissions are:
||Allows action to be performed if there is no Denied permission at the same level.|
||Denies action from being performed. If user has both Allowed and Denied set, Denied permission wins.|
||No effect, but acts as Denied if no other rules apply.|
Permissions set specifically for the user account take precedence over the group permissions. If the permission has not been set in the user account, access check will be performed against all the user groups the user belongs to. If any of the user groups have Denied the action, user has no permission for the action. Otherwise, if any of the user groups have Allowed the action, permission will be granted. If permission has not been set in any of the user's groups, Super User permission acts as universal Allowed, otherwise Denied will be applied.
Permissions set for the user accounts and user groups act as default permissions for managing the pages. All of these rules can be overridden inside any page Security tab.
CRUD authorization check workflow for an individual page is following:
Page Groupsfrom the current page
authorsgroup if the user is listed in
defaultsgroup if the user is logged in
Deny: stop immediately and return
Allow: set allow flag =
Yes, do the same checks with the parent page
Root page is a special page in Grav 1.7+ which allows site admins to set default permissions for all the pages. It can only be seen by Super User or a user who has Pages Configuration rights.
The root page will be saved into
user/pages/root.md file and does not contain any content as the page is currently unreachable (this may change in the future).
Found errors? Think you can improve this documentation? Simply click the Edit link at the top of the page, and then the icon on Github to make your changes.